Mary, Ben X and (many) Max

There are a few films that are related to the Asperger Syndrome. And it’s always interesting to see how it is portrayed. What effect it has on people who have the Syndrome, if they related or not and if the family members recognise what they also live in the characters in the films.

The very first one I heard of was  BenX . Have you seen it?

It was just starting to be screened in my city that week and it was also just about a few months after I received the diagnosis.

It was the morning and I was driving my car listening to the radio. The host was interviewing the belgium filmmaker Nic Balthazar who was doing his promotional tour for his first feature film. He talked about it in many ways, then started saying it was from a true story: a young man, Asperger, throwing himself a window from a top floor one night because he was being bullied at his school pension.

I had to stop my car.

I listen carefully to the rest of his interview but was too imerse by my emotions. Tears were rolling down my cheeks and It’s all troubled that I was able to start the car again and finally get myself to work, my head full of fears.

Is it that often, that Aspies are bullied? How many suicide as teens for it? Will my child get over his teenager years ? Without being so miserable?

It took a few days. And research. And some truth of that harshness also.

But thank god it did not take that long that my emotions turned arround. And … I was not going to let that happen. All the documents I had read about the seriousness of that reality did not stop me from telling my self I would do everything possible in the world to get actions towards courage, confident and lucidity. and help my son do to the same.

So without having seen the film, it was already a motor for action and an awareness moment in my life. It shocked me but it woke me also. Everyone arround me was seeing the film. But for me it was too dramatic. I was scared and asked my mother – that saw it 3 times – to tell me every bit of the story so I could have no bad surprise when – If I dare – finally see it.

It was 2 years ago and the other day my son and I were at the video store looking to rent a film. BenX was screening on the TVs and we accidentally saw some images. It was a scene were some boys were terrifying the young man. I know it is not the only scene and the ending if a beautiful moment…But still today, I am scared to see it … And to accidentally see this scene did not help!

In order to tame my desire and my curiosity I rented another one.

Just to get closer and familiar. And my son watch it with me. It is an animated film called: Mary and Max.

It is very touching. Still a bit hard to swallow at times. Not because it is Asperger related. Plainly because it was a good art piece!

And the funny thing about it? My son did not recognise himself at all in the man!

Is there as many types of Aspies as there are specific characteristics ?

Both films I suggest if you haven’t seen. Would love to read your comments about them too.

… And If I finally get the courage to watch BenX…? I will be able to say like the mantra of the film… COURAGE IS EVERYTHING!

Leave a comment